I just wrapped up a game of France 40 by Mark Simonitch and GMT Games. Very fun and close affair.

VP Total: German 24 and Allies 20

Based on the extended game, two players may want to continue to see if the Allies can get some more German units to count toward their total, isolate the far advanced Germans, and possibly open up a rail line. But I’m calling it here to play another game.

By the way, in some of my videos I mention that it hadn’t hit it’s numbers. Incorrect. It’s way above the P500. But you can get this game at a great price as of this writing while it’s on P500. Go to GMT Games to get your order in,

Some things to think about next time I play:

  • Don’t spend so many units on the Maginot and Namur locations. Isolate the locations and let them dwindle away. Perhaps, attack a couple turns and then move on. I ignored it more than the last time I played, but not enough.
  • I thought all the SE exits were worth 2VP each. Wrong, only the exit labelled S/SE. Therefore, spend some of the 7 movement point units on getting further ahead and the 3 move units to close the hexes. I did this up north but dedicated 3 of my mech infantry units to the exits too early in the game.
  • The Yellow Boxed French tank units always get the armor shift. I think i cancelled them a few times when a German tank was against them.
  • Try to DS more often.
  • Try to attack after retreat more often 4:1 odds.
  • Remember that Extended movement can be used if you start in an EZOC (essentially cancelling the +2 penalty when moving out of an EZOC. I forgot this.
  • Remember I can have a 2 step or less Tank unit that would normally push a hex over the 7 stacking limit. This may have helped reinforce some attacks.
  • Major Rivers stop advance.
  • Learn how to use the Trains better for the Allies.
  • Need to clear my mind on retreat and advance after combat procedures.
  • Did i understand the Halt Order to mean i can only use it in one turn?
  • Definitely need to understand the supply and isolation rules. I thought cities provided supply. Wrong. Namur and Maginot line would’ve been isolated quickly and they could’ve seen some reductions.
  • Speaking of isolation, remember the French collapse rule and how it applies to combat.
  • GQG markers – learn how to use these to more effect.
  • Interesting to me that rail lines don’t help with supply, only roads. keeps it simple, but i would think rail would help.
  • Figure out how to use the Disengagement and Reserve rules.
  • Figure out how to best use the Allied HQs.

Add the following to an amended QRS:

  • Isolation Table
  • Add Rccon to the Special Units table
  • Add Black Box Allied units to the Special Units table.